Leaving The District?

Reminder

RUSDlearns accounts are permanently deleted after staff or students leave the district. It is encouraged to transfer items before your last work day.

Google Takeout

Google Takeout is a feature that makes it possible for users to copy and transfer files from their RUSD Google Drive to a personal Google account.

This is ideal for graduating students and members leaving RUSD.

For Staff who are leaving a position and entering a new one or leaving the district, there are three options to transfer necessary drive files to other staff members:

Assign a new owner to your files

Before you transfer ownership

You can only transfer ownership of files to people within your work or school. When you make someone else the owner of a folder, you still own the files inside. Learn more about sharing folders.

Note: If you transfer ownership of a lot of files and folders at once, it may take some time for you to see the changes.

Files you can transfer:

  • Google Docs
  • Google Sheets
  • Google Slides
  • Google Forms
  • Google Drawings
  • Google My Maps
  • Folders

How to change owners

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Click the file you want to transfer to someone else.
  3. Click Share or Share .
  4. Click Advanced.
  5. To the right of a person you've already shared the file with, click the Down arrow .
  6. Click Is owner.
  7. Click Save changes.

**After you make someone else the owner of a file, you can edit the file unless the new owner decides to change your access.

After you change file owners

When you make someone else the owner of a file, you won’t be able to:

  • Transfer ownership, even back to yourself.
  • Permanently delete the file from Google Drive.

Move files to a Shared Drive

Make sure you know that...

  • You can move multiple files at once.
  • You can’t move folders from My Drive into a shared drive, but you can create new folders in a shared drive.
  • Anyone you directly shared a file with retains access, unless your shared drive doesn’t allow non-members.
  • People who had access to the file from a folder that's been shared don’t retain access once you move a file. If you want these people to keep access, update your permissions after moving your files to a shared drive.
  • When you move a file to a shared drive, the team becomes the owner of the file.

To move files from My Drive into a shared drive or between shared drives, drag the files into the destination shared drive. To move folders, contact your G Suite admin.

Move files from My Drive to a shared drive:

You can move any file you own into a shared drive, whether it’s from another Drive location or from your computer or mobile device.

If you’re not the owner of a file in My Drive, but you have at least Edit access to the file, you might be able to move that file into a shared drive, if:

  • Your G Suite admin has enabled this option.
  • The file’s owner is a member of the shared drive where you want to move the file.

Otherwise, you need to ask the owner to move the file into the shared drive.

Move files between shared drives:

To move files between shared drives, you need Manager access to the original shared drive and at least Contributor access to the destination shared drive.

Request all files from your drive to be transferred by Google Admin

Submit a google work order using THIS LINK